British Railways Electrical Control Room
The Woking Electrical Control Room was built in 1936 by Swedish firm ASEA for Southern Railways. Used as a control centre after the electrification of the line, the room was taken out of operational use in the late 1990s, although parts of the building remain occupied.
The building displays many striking art deco features both externally and internally, and boasts many original features including three copper and iron uplighters, track diagrams with working lights and switches, and the original control desk.
Please note: This building is Grade II listed, and access to the site is restricted.
Event Details: Guided tours of the building by former railway control room workers.
Date: Saturday 14, Sunday 15, Saturday 21 and Sunday 22 September
Time: 10am to 2pm
Directions: Walk on foot between 107 and 109 York Road.